IPL 2021: Delhi Capital Shimron Hetmyer are candidates for the remaining slots

Shimron Hetmeyer, Steve Smith are candidates for the remaining slots

The final spot in the DC playing XI will be a straight shootout between Steve Smith, Shimron Hetmyer and Sam Billings. The former two are the only real contenders for the spot.

Had Iyer been fit, Hetmyer would’ve undoubtedly been the man for DC. Iyer and Shikhar Dhawan could’ve anchored the innings, while Hetmyer would’ve given the team momentum in the middle overs.

However, in the absence of the DC captain, Steve Smith has a case to be brought into the side due to his experience and versatility – although he is on the back of a rather poor season with the Rajasthan Royals.

DC might have to rely completely on Stoinis, Pant and Axar Patel to find the boundary in the middle overs and at the death in the absence of Hetmyer. They would also need to be wary of having too many “safe” batsmen in Ajinkya Rahane (who is expected to replace Iyer in the XI), Dhawan and Smith.

But they need Smith’s experience when Iyer is unfit, and Hetmyer has major fitness issues of his own. The West Indian is far from reliable and having a batsman who guarantees 300-plus runs a season might be a better idea than going in search of a higher strike rate.

1April 10, SaturdayChennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMMumbai
2April 15, ThursdayRajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMMumbai
3April 18, SundayDelhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings7:30 PMMumbai
4April 20, TuesdayDelhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMChennai
5April 25, SundaySunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMChennai
6April 27, TuesdayDelhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore7:30 PMAhmedabad
7April 29, ThursdayDelhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders7:30 PMAhmedabad
8May 2, SundayPunjab Kings Vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMAhmedabad
9May 8, SaturdayKolkata Knight Riders v Delhi Capitals3.30 PMAhmedabad
10May 11, TuesdayDelhi Capitals v Rajasthan Royals7.30 PMKolkata
11May 14, FridayRoyal Challengers Bangalore v Delhi Capitals7.30 PMKolkata
12May 17, MondayDelhi Capitals v Sunrisers Hyderabad3.30 PMKolkata
13May 21, FridayDelhi Capitals v Chennai Super Kings7.30 PMKolkata
14May 23, SundayMumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals3.30 PMKolkata

IPL DC’s Full Squad

Shreyas Iyer (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Woakes, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Lalit Yadav, Pravin Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddarth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings

Also read:-

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: